RUNOFF RESULTS: Ayala takes JP race by four votes; Rivera wins Democratic nomination for County Judge

NEWS Staff Report

Elections graphicA new Justice of the Peace was elected Tuesday by one of the closer races in Election Day Primary runoffs.

By a difference of four ballots, and according to uncanvassed votes, Guadalupe Ayala won the Precinct 3, Place 1 Justice of the Peace race over incumbent Manuel Flores Jr., 864 to 860.

In the JP race, Ayala won the mail-in vote, 11 to 10, lost early voting, 517 to 505, and won Election Day, 348 to 333.

Democratic runoffs had Jim Hogan defeat Richard “Kinky” Friedman in Cameron County, 5,394 to 4,024, for Commissioner of Agriculture. Ruben R. Peña lost the Democratic nomination for County Judge to Joe G. Rivera, 4,921 to 5,695. For District Clerk, Eric Garza defeated Elvira S. Ortiz, 5,476 to 4,958. Sylvia Garza Perez was also victorious with 5,603 votes to Arnold R. Flores Jr.’s 4,836 in the County Clerk’s race.

Cameron County results in Republican races included Dan Patrick winning over David Dewhurst, 764 to 703; Ken Paxton overcame Dan Branch for Attorney General, 829 to 576; Sid Miller defeated Tommy Merritt for Commissioner of Agriculture, 746 to 649; and Ryan Sitton won the race for Railroad Commissioner against Wayne Christian, 832 to 577.

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.