Tackle football championships slated at Bobby Morrow


flag football pic

The Boys & Girls Club of San Benito 7A Division Flag Football Champions were crowned recently, and they are the Judge Oscar De La Fuente Elementary Jaguars. The team went 12-0 on the season, 10-0 in the regular season and 2-0 in the championship playoffs. Coaching the team were Richard Montalvo and Alex Garcia. The players pictured are Jaydyn Montalvo, Alex “Hondo” Garcia, Antonio Torres, Manuel Rodriguez, Rene Muñoz, Nathan Zepeda, Cody Martinez, Damon Barnes, Joaquin Mendoza, Ramon Mata, Luis Salinas, and David Torres. The cheerleaders shown are Ofilia Muñoz, Erika De Los Santos, Raven Rios, Sahaira Bedolla, Citlalith Mata, Camila Mata, Leylah Montalvo, Dinora Vela, Thalia Torres, Naria Garcia, Mandy Villarreal, Nadia Robles, Audrey Hernandez, and Janine Sierra. (Courtesy photo)

The Boys & Girls Club of San Benito is wrapping up its annual football program Wednesday with championship games slated Wednesday, Dec. 8 at Bobby Morrow Stadium.

According to Elias Villarreal, sports coordinator for the club, tackle football champions in the 9-10 year old and 11-12 year old divisions will be crowned following the games. In the former division the Raymondville Texans will take on the Dr. C.M. Cash Gators at 6:30 p.m., and in the latter the San Benito Riverside Bulldogs will take on the Brownsville Vikings promptly following the first contest.

The club’s flag football program finished recently with the Sullivan Elementary Jaguars winning the 5-6 year old division and the Judge Oscar De La Fuente Elementary Jaguars taking the 7-8 year old division.

For more on this story, pick up a copy of the Dec. 8 edition of the San Benito News. Or view our E-Edition by clicking here.

Permanent link to this article: https://www.sbnewspaper.com/2010/12/07/tackle-football-championships-slated-at-bobby-morrow/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.